I take the train to go to work every Monday morning and then to get back home on Thursday or Friday evenings. I try to find a seat on the same side of the train so that no matter which direction I am going, I am looking at the same side of the outside world. This is for no other reason than just “habit”. Today, I couldn’t find a seat on my usual side of the train . No big deal, I say. Only, little did I know how big of a deal it was. Doing this week after week, month after month, my eyes and my brain were trained to certain visual cues of the scenes I see outside the window. That small aircraft  factory, the gorgeous estuary where the Susquehanna spills into the Chesapeake Bay, the crumbling row  houses in an abjectly poor neighborhood outside of Baltimore, the massive IRS building at New Carrollton, etc.:  sights that I experience twice every week and which make for familiar markers of where I am in my journey. Well, all of them went missing today. The scenes that were unfolding outside the window were of course very different and unfamiliar. Result – I was disoriented, I could not tell how far I was from my destination, I was lost. It made me sit up and take notice.

No matter how unfamiliar these sights were, they were equally true and real just as the ones from the side I am usually used to. The train was still heading to the same place, but my perspective was different. What is so “blog-worthy” you ask? Well, it was a great reminder of considering “The Other Side” in my day-to-day life. It was a reminder to weigh-in and look at things from all sides possible before making a decision or forming an opinion. Not that I don’t do it, but today’s train ride accidentally reminded me of the “importance” of it and re-iterated that I continue need to do it consciously. Need to imprint on my brain that “There is always another side to everything and that side is worth looking at.”

