Tags

, ,

Public Service Announcement – These series of posts are strictly for those who lived and loved the 90s, more specifically for those who have a curious fondness for the Hindi movies and music of this decade. If a mere mention of Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar, Jaan Tere Naam, Anari, Kishen Kanhaiyya, Sadak, Khiladi, Lekin, Coolie No. 1 – make you a bit warm and fuzzy, then this series is for you. Ok, that’s all.

When 1990 arrived, I was in my prime teens – which equates to a sense of “I am my own person and nobody can tell me what to wear, what to eat, what to watch, where to go” and a general distaste for anything that had to do with OLD and OLD people. Facial hair were making their presence felt, acne were erupting with surprising speed & numbers all over my face, other physiological changes were screwing up everything that was holy inside my body and head. We have already established my love for the movies in a number of previous posts, but up until the last year of the 80s, I was still watching or listening to what the elders were watching or listening to – none of it was out of my volition. The 90s were different, I was choosing to listen and watch what “I” wanted – and boy did I want to listen and watch everything. I consumed almost all of the music and the movies of this decade with a ferocious voracity – at least in the first half of the decade, this consumption got a bit selective in the later years of the decades.

A bit of a background on the mediums of this consumption: For music in the early years of the decade, it was mostly via Radio, especially a program called “Chitralok” which showcased songs of unreleased or newly released movies. We did not own so much as a cassette player then. After much deliberation with my dad, we bought a Phillips two-in-one (with nothing less than two detachable speakers) which led to a ravenous phase of purchasing many audio cassettes, including blank cassettes. On these blank cassettes, I would record songs played on the radio, with my two fingers on the Record button so as not to record the commercials or the commentary. I must say I honed this skill over time, but my early recordings had a song ending with an opening of “Washing Powder Nirma” or the ending of “Paragon chappal”. Another way to get my hands on the news about movies and their stars was “Mayapuri”, a cheesy Hindi film magazine that was found in the barbershops of Nagpur. I devoured them like a person who is on a hunger strike would after he/she breaks his/her fast. I would be quite disappointed when my turn for a haircut would come if I had not gone through all the magazines.

Now to the subject at hand, the movies and the music of the 90s. This series is not so much about the quality of the movies or the music, which we can unanimously agree that, it was largely abysmal. This series is about what was popular then and more specifically, the dormant memories that these songs evoke for me. I am sure for those of you who also savor the 90s, you have your memories associated with these songs. So please do share them in the comments section. I have tried to break this series down by year, but may change the pattern depending on how it evolves. I am also providing some additional non filmy tid-bits about what was happening in my life around that time and any big news from the affairs of the country or the world. I am hoping this helps in coloring that particular year in more than just a cinematic hue.

A disclaimer: This series is not a factually researched piece of work, so I may mix the year of a movie especially if they came out during the end or beginning of an year. I am using the interwebs to fact check, but as we know, even the interwebs can be wrong. So if you see such errors, please let me know and I will update the posts as much as possible.

OK, lets get going.

1990:

The non filmy stuff: I was in my tenth standard and as was the norm, all of my energies were supposed to be focused on acing the SSC test. My family had high hopes from me, and I could feel the pressure physically & emotionally. Nonetheless, I was not the kind who studied much, I always had a radio or a TV in front of me as I studied, a habit which continued until the end of my formal education. I would always need another distraction while I studied – this is probably the reason why I was always mediocre in my studies (see how cleverly I shift the blame from my average intellect to external factors). There just wasn’t enough in any of the academic subjects (save for Geography) that could keep me engaged for more than 15 minutes at a time – I guess only now do I realize that academia was utterly boring for me…I would much rather prefer to live in the dream world…aka the “Movies” or the real world aka the effortlessly educational “Outdoors”. This was also the year when India’s then Prime Minister, V.P. Singh, had implemented the Mandal Commission report which was causing quite a bit of ruckus in the nation – news of people setting themselves on fire was an everyday affair.

The stars of the year: Anil Kapoor, Sunny Deol & Jackie Shroff were the established male stars of the time while, Madhuri Dixit was giving Sridevi a tough competition for the top spot in the world of heroines. The stars of the 70s and 80s like Amitabh Bachchan, Vinod Khanna, Rajesh Khanna, Dharmendra, Jeetendra, Rekha, Hema Malini, Dimple Kapadia (who was back from a hiatus) were also putting up a fight to rule the box office. The youngsters like Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, Juhi Chawla, were trying to find their bearings. Among the ones who were playing second fiddle but had a sizeable following were – Govinda, Meenakshi Seshadri, Sanjay Dutt, Chunky Pandey, Jaya Prada (her rivalry with Sridevi from the late 80s, was long over and Sridevi had emerged a more sustainable presence at the Box office).

Slide1The movies of the year: I remember the following movies from that year, and have tried to pen down a line or two of what has stayed with me.

Aaj ka Arjun: The hugely popular song “Goree hai kalayeeyan” and the obnoxiuous “Chali aana tu paan ki dukaan pe”. No amount of make-up, costumes, lighting and camera angles could hide the fact that Amitabh was almost 50 years old and was seen harassing a much much younger Jaya Prada to cavort with him. Creepers!

Aandhiyan : The only reason is Mumtaz – her of the heaving bosom and impossibly tight sarees – who made a disastrous comeback.

Aashiqui: Mahesh Bhatt created history with Aashiqui, the publicity poster of a girl and a boy under a jacket remains one of the most iconic posters of Hindi cinema. Nadeem Shravan’s songs have stood the test of time (even though a number of them were straight lifts from Pakistani music). T-Series became a music label that changed the game of how mass produced music was generated. They made cassettes affordable to even the likes of me! Anuradha Paudwal and Kumar Sanu became household names while Rahul Roy and Anu Agarwal struggled to stay as household names!

Agneepath: Three words: Vijay Dinanath Chauhan! Amitabh aside, I was thrilled by the chawl scene – the one with copious amounts of water and mud and a massive crowd – Mukul Anand had at least one such crowd scene  in all his movies and he did shoot them with panache! I also remember Rohini Hattangadi mouthing “Apane haath dho le” and of course Neelam, I had a thing for her!

Agneekal: Abbas-Mastan who would make waves later on with Khiladi and Baazigar directed this forgettable film, the only reason I remember it is because of the song “Pankhida o Pankhida” that would play incessantly on the radio.

Appu Raja: I remember watching it in a theater called Regent which was entirely made of tin. It used to get as hot as a baking oven, but a dwarf Kamal Hassan was what made this movie a joyride.

Awwal Number: This is one of those movies – It’s so bad it’s good! Sunny Gavaskar made a cameo appearance in this ridiculous Dev Anand directorial mess which featured a newcomer called Ekta who was required to twirl a lot to showcase a collection of colorful underwears.

Baaghi: There was something refreshing about Anand Milind’s music and the song picturizations, I still love the way “Kaisa lagta hai” has been shot – it may be the image of Nagma dangling from a crane! I remember listening to these songs during the monsoon season, and even today every time I listen to them, they transport me to an overcast and wet Nagpur.

Dil: Honestly, I have not seen Dil, but the songs were everywhere….also a pimply Madhuri!

Ghayal: A true blue action flick which I absolutely LOVED. Sunny had arrived as a bonafide action star. Also, “Sochana kya jo bhi hoga” (another plagiarized tune by the Bappi!) was on my lips for a long time.

Jamai Raja: I have not seen this movie, but I would dig it’s songs..especially the cacophonous but well choreographed “tere pyar mein hum” which has been bizarrely shot on a set of a Western, and the sneezing effect in “Teri pyaari pyaari baatein much aaaaaachhhhiiiii lagati hai”!

Kishen Kanhaiya: The songs were a hoot, but what got people flocking to the cinemas was a bathing Shilpa Shirodkar! She is nowhere to be found now.

Lekin: Yes, the music (By Hridaynath) , the poetry (by Gulzar), and Lata’s home production! But what I remember is that my dad used to work in Bhandara then, and he told me, that his room-mate and him went to watch this movie one fine evening at a theater in Bhandara. While it’s surprising that this movie should play in Bhandara it is even more outlandish that my dad and his colleague/room-mate would go watch it – because, if you knew my dad, he doesn’t voluntarily go to the cinemas, and if you knew his room-mate, he didn’t know what “cinema” was! This event of them watching Lekin together baffles me even today.

Naaka Bandi: Absolute trash of a movie, redeemed by the bright lightbulb called Sridevi. This is one reason I like performers like her, they give a 100% no matter how ridiculous and outlandish the overall product is. They are fully engaged and honest in their work. Shahid Kapoor from today’s generation is like that! The self-referential song in the movie ” Main lagati hoon Sridevi lagati hoon” is a piece of awesome mimicry.

Sailaab: “Humko aajkal hai intezaar”….enough said! Did anyone honestly see this movie for anything else? If Youtube existed then, I bet it would’t sell half the tickets it sold.

Shiva: Ram Gopal Verma arrived with this….he brought back realism to mainstream movies,  making him a director to look forward to. Also, Amala – God I loved her! The minimalist all black poster of just a fist holding a bicycle chain with the words “Shiva” popping in bold red letters is also something that left an impression on me.

Thanedaar: The Tamma Tamma Loge controversy, but I also remember it because I liked two other songs from this movie: the hilarious Jabse Huye hai Shaadi by Amit Kumar) and the horrendous Aur bhala kya maangoo main rabse by Lata and……….Pankaj Udhaas!!!

Here’s a playlist of some of the popular songs from this year! Thanks to AB for the contribution to the playlist.